Ramadan and Eidian

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Ramadan and Eidian 1433 AH (2012)

RAMADAN & SHAWWAL 1433 (2011)

Ramadan 1433 AH: The Astronomical New Moon is on July 19, 2012 (Thursday) at 4:24 Universal Time (7:24 a.m. Makkah time). On Thursday, July 19, it can not be seen anywhere in the world by naked eye, except in small areas of Polynesian Islands. On Friday, July 20, 2012, it can be easily seen in Australia, South-East Asia, Africa and Americas.

On July 19, 2012 (Thursday), Sunset at Makkah at 7:01 p.m., Moonset is at 7:11 p.m. Moon is born before sunset at Makkah and moonset is after sunset at Makkah. Therefore, according to Ummula-Qura Calendar, 1st day of Ramadan is Friday, July 20, 2012 insha'Allah.

According to Fiqh Council of North America criteria (moon born before sunset at Makkah, and moonset after sunset at Makkah) 1st day of Ramadan is Friday, July 20, 2012 insha'Allah.

Eid ul-Fitr 1433 AH: The Astronomical New Moon is on August 17, 2012 (Friday) at 15:54 Universal Time (6:54 p.m. Makkah time). On Friday, August 17, it can not be seen anywhere in the world by naked eye. On Saturday, August 18, 2012, it can be easily seen in Southern Africa and South America. On August 19, it can be seen in almost the whole world.

On August 17, 2012 (Friday), Sunset at Makkah is at 6:49 p.m., Moonset is at 6:30 p.m. Moon is born after sunset at Makkah and Moon is setting before sunset at Makkah. Therefore, according to Ummula-Qura Calendar, Eid-ul-Fitr will NOT be next day, but it will be on Sunday, August 19, 2012 insha'Allah.

According to Fiqh Council of North America criteria (moon born before sunset at Makkah, and moonset after sunset at Makkah) 1st day of Shawwal is Sunday, August 19, 2012 insha'Allah.

EID-UL-ADHA 1433 AH: The Astronomical New Moon is on August 29, 2011 (Monday) at 3:04 . The Astronomical New Moon is on October 15, 2012 (Monday) at 12:02 Universal Time (3:02 p.m. Makkah time). On Monday, October 15, it can not be seen anywhere in the world by naked eye. On Tuesday, October 16, 2012, it can be easily seen in Australia, Africa and Americas; and with difficulty in South-East Asia.

With this calculations Day of Arafah is expected to be on Thursday, October 25, 2012. This is also the date in Ummul-Qura calendar for Day of Arafah.

According to Fiqh Council of North America (FCNA), Eid-al-Adha would be on the day after the Day of Arafah; i.e., Friday, October 26, 2012.

Last Updated (Tuesday, 30 November 1999 00:00)
 

Quran Verse

Verse of the day:
When their eyes shall be turned towards the Companions of the Fire, they will say: "Our Lord! send us not to the company of the wrong-doers." 7:47
 
 
 
 

Copyright -2011 Zubaida Foundation ~ 855 Big Oak Road ~ Yardley, PA 19067